If Lebanon Was A Person


Who is Lebanon? You might have heard about Lebanon from the Media but you really need to question your knowledge about him.

Lebanon is a survivor; he is a strong, smart, educated, cultivated, talented, ambitious and optimistic person. He is very peaceful; he loves everyone, all his fellow humans regardless to their gender, race or religion. Independence and freedom are very fundamental to him for he is a leader not a follower. Lebanon has been through a lot; he suffered war more than once, he lost his beloved ones and all his properties yet managed to pull himself together and start over again.

Some have tried to shut Lebanon down. Why? Because he stands out and if he stays rising he will make history. Lebanon is Gebran Khalil Gebran, Fairuz, Maxime Chaya, Hassan Kamel Al-Sabbah, Charles Elachi, Elie Saab and a lot more. This is Lebanon, a successful and intelligent person that makes himself and everyone proud.

Again, Lebanon is not what you see on TV; the chaos and corruption. Go in depth and you will see the reality hidden Lebanon under that false image.

Zoe Rajh

21 thoughts on “If Lebanon Was A Person

  1. Beautiful and passionate post! I agree and hope to see the country as a leader for liberty in the world.
    I am also excited that you mentioned Fairuz as I have listened to some of her music! In the morning of course 😉 Some of my friends showed me her music and I enjoy it
    Why do you feel Lebanon is portrayed wrongly? Or perhaps the media is biased in some way?

    1. Thanks a lot Alena!! So kind of you and yeah you’re right it’s best to listen to Fairuz in the morning 🙂
      And to answer your questions.. Well Lebanon is portrayed this way because there actually is chaos and corruption, but this doesn’t mean that those negative things represent the Lebanese people. Unfortunately the Media spots the light on these only, ignoring the positive things and the bright side of Lebanon and this saddens me..

  2. I agree with Alena, I am so inspired by this post and it is beautifully written. This was a different approach to expressing your feelings towards Lebanon which gave me an unique approach to understanding your perspective. This makes me want to look deeper into the reasons why Lebanon is seen under a false image and an opportunity to speak up as well.

    1. Thanks a lot Devon!! I’m glad you liked my post and I really hope other people elsewhere could also get to know the real Lebanon not the one portrayed in the Media

  3. I would have to agree, I think this was beautifully written. To an outsider like myself, who doesn’t know very much about Lebanon it seems like an extremely divided country. However, like you’ve pointed out it is a surviving nation, a nation that is strong and standing even after all it has been through.

    It’s a shame that what is presented in the media is negative, but I don’t think that is something that is only attributed to Lebanon. Unfortunately most things that are presented in the media are negative and it gives a warped perspective on something that can be seen in a completely different way.

    1. First of all, thanks for your comment 🙂 Second of all, you are absolutely right about the negative things presented in the Media and yeah that’s not only the case in Lebanon.. Too bad Media has got here..
      But as a Lebanese person I believe it’s my duty to show the correct image, and I hope I succeeded in that.

  4. I really like the approach you took with this blog! Referring to Lebanon as a person really puts into Lebanon’s issues and how they are portrayed into perspective. I can tell you are passionate and you’s shed light on a topic in very different way!

  5. I love this piece, expressing the love and hope you have for your home is moving. This has given me hope for peace within the Middle East and a new view on what patriotism really means.

  6. Absolutely beautiful. Intriguing perspective as well. It is refreshing to read it from your point of view. I think it is a shame that many people only see negative aspects. It’s our job to change that.

  7. You can definitely feel the passion on this topic through your blog, and I admire it. It’s sad how the media can be so deceiving. We don’t know what life is like for those across the world, so we depend on the media to fill us in, and unfortunately it doesn’t always properly portray the actual stories and events. Nice blog!!

  8. I really enjoyed this post and could tell you’re proud of your country. The media can easily skew one’s perception of a country, but its descriptions like the one you just posted that are able to erase the media’s opinion and shine a positive light and the truth so one can fully understand what Lebanon is like. I believe your passion and respect your description of Lebanon and think that it truly is a strong country that’s survived many hardships.

  9. I love the personification you used here. Making Lebanon into a person with qualities and characteristics really helped me to better understand Lebanon and everything it embodies. With the increase of bias in the media, it’s hard to gain a full perspective. As you mentioned, media can be very deceiving. It’s important that we all do our own research and come to our own conclusions, instead of buying into what someone else tells us to think. Your blog post really helps to do that.

  10. A very expressive and beautifully written post. The passion and power in your words for this post would never be found in a normal news article about Lebabon so thank you for your inspiring insight!

  11. I love this, Zoe! I can tell by your words how passionate you are about your country, and it was beautiful to read. Posts like this are important when exploring new parts of the world. Seeing Lebanon through your eyes and not the eyes of the news media or other secondary sources gives me a totally different perspective, and I want others to have the same experience. I think the best way to have meaningful communication across cultures is to understand what is important and loved by each other, and this is a wonderful way to express that!

  12. Interesting idea to use personification to express the life and history of a country. I’d be curious to hear what everyone else’s portrayal of their own country is like and how that person would present themselves. I suppose it all would depend on who is writing on behalf of their country so that could also lead to a biased description. The overall concept of personifying every country could lead to a whole new perspective on and understanding of nations we may have never had before.

  13. First of all, I would like to say that this was beautifully written. Your passion and patriotism for your country is very clear, and very admirable. Secondly, many Muslims argue that the media portrays the Islamic faith in a very negative way because of the radical groups they associate most Muslims with. Do you think that this has anything to do with how Lebanon is portrayed in the media? What role does Islam have in the national identity of your country?

  14. It is really amazing to see your strong passion for Lebanon, and I think it would definitely be beneficial if more people spoke out and expressed themselves like this because it is easier to understand your perspective. If more people saw this type of work was presented in the media more I highly doubt that the stereotypes that exist would be as predominant as they are now.

Leave a Reply

