From Trash to Treasure


As a part of my Saturday afternoon, I decided to indulge in a much needed shopping spree-to the thrift store. At this point in my life, thrifting has practically been embedded into my bones. Ever since I was a little girl, my parents had been taking my sister and I on adventures to find the best treasures at various thrift shops in Ohio. I can easily say that a large part of who I am, is a result of these always spontaneous actions. After returning to my home and looking at my “new” collection of goodies I had rummaged racks for earlier that day, I began to wonder what it would be like to explore thrift stores in other parts of the world. Would the same type of items be found? What would the prices range from? I decided to take my curiosity on a trip to the Middle East.

At first I wasn’t sure if thrift stores would be as common in other regions of the world as they are in the US, but it turns out, they are thriving just as much in the Middle East as they are here. A hotspot for many thrift stores is Tel Aviv, the second most populated city in Israel.  There, secondhand items are considered to be classy and chic. A perfect combination. While many people are attracted to the cheap prices of the unique pieces, others have been willing to spend rather large amounts on actual vintage items dating back to the 60’s and 70’s.

Owners of these stores ensure variety in their pieces, sometimes traveling all over the world to collect them. Though, most of the popular finds have been personable collectibles.

One of the popular stores, Eshet Hayil, is located in Tchernichovsky on a quiet side street in the heart of the city. The store’s name is derived from the woman of valor, which represents capability, energy, and righteousness. Many celebrities have been often spotted at this hole in the wall treasure chest. The owner takes pride in her pieces, and is adding new items to the collection every few days or so. Watches, jewelry, and other accessories make up a majority of the sales, although baubles of all sorts are likely to be found.

eshet

eshet2

Hamachteret is another successfully established vintage store in the area, which is highly recognized for its items specifically from NYC, Berlin, and London. Tali Kushnir, the owner of the store, has dedicated a considerable chunk of her life building a place of passion, and style. She personally loves wearing pieces that have been worn by others over and over again, and her reason is a valuable element in the art of thrifting.

565326_10200469747407705_821746892_n 2nd-hand-shop-638x479

“It’s the excitement of having someone else’s energy” – Tali Kushnir

The above statement is one that I personally relate to.  While the idea of saving money is more than appealing, the story that each item can is intriguing, although I may never know more about it than the vintage store I bought it from.

The beauty of the unknown.

Sources: http://www.jpost.com/Arts-and-Culture/Entertainment/Be-bold-go-for-the-old

3 thoughts on “From Trash to Treasure

  1. This makes my heart melt! It really has been embedded in our life growing up and this makes me want to be a professional “thrift shopper”! I wonder where other locations are that have thrift shops that maybe aren’t as popular. There is so much beauty in finding vintage items or anything that has individual value and I am happy this is a shared feeling across the world. If only I could get my hand on some of these goodies!

  2. I have always been a thrift store shopper. Who wants to pay 40 dollars for a sweater I can find for 8 dollars? Growing up, the woman who watched my brother and I after school would take us to the local thrift store at least once a week and spoil us with goodies. Throughout high school, we always had themes to our football games like, hunting season, pink-out, and neon night so the you could find everyone from my high school at the thrift shop the night of the game trying to find an outfit that suited that nights theme. Thrifting turned in to a high school event it seemed like. I think it would be really cool to go thrifting in another country, you never know what you’ll find.

  3. I agree with you that someone else’s trash in another person’s treasure and that other cultures feel the same way. Either way clothes one wears will eventually will be worn out and boring to them, so buying from thrift stores is definitely the smart thing to do. I feel like the thrift stores you mentioned above make thrifting their life and have created a sort of eclectic boutique. The stores around where I am from are somewhat like this, but certainly do not devote their lives to finding clothes in international places. I really liked your blog because you included a lot of your personal beliefs and experiences in it.

Leave a Reply

