Le Haim or Fe Sahetek?


If you have ever been to a big city like New York, Miami, or Los Angeles, there is nothing as surreal, glorious, and overwhelming as the city and it’s nightlife, especially when you come from a more rural state like Ohio.

This got me thinking about possibilities of a “city that never sleeps” in the Middle East. American’s may have a certain perception of the M.E., relating it to merely religion, sand, and conflict, which, don’t get me wrong, are prominent aspects of their daily lives. But, what they may not know is that the Middle East can say more of the “work hard play hard” lifestyle than we give them credit for.

As the sun goes down, the lights come on, in Telv Aviv, Israel, and Beirut, Lebanon. These two cities believe they are the ultimate hot spot for the avid partier, and here’s what they have to offer.

TEL AVIV, ISRAEL

A city of chic and diverse clubs has made Tel Aviv a global sensation for the regular party animal. The bars and clubs welcome you at midnight and the party doesn’t stop until the sun comes up. An article on TimeOut Israel claims that drinks are served until the last customer wants to go home. Free spirits rule the city, and the beaches can only be blamed for their beautiful women. Don’t believe me? In 2012, readers digest claimed Tel Aviv to be home to the world’s most beautiful people. Drinks may be expensive, but bartenders are “generous” with their proportions. Once you experience the energy here, you’re life will forever be filled with the memories (or lack their of) of music, dance, passion, and possibly a horrible 10am hangover. As the saying goes “you go to Haifa to work, Jerusalem to learn, and Tel Aviv to play”. So say Le haim, or cheers, to a wild night in Tel Aviv!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGmxGvdDPj8

BEIRUT, LEBANON

Wait did I say Tel Aviv? I meant Beirut, Lebanon’s capitol of great times and great pride. The city celebrates an impressive comeback by soaking up the sun along the beach and long nights of endless clubbing and partying. The drinks are cheap but the ambiance is far from it. They party sky high on rooftop bars, gamble their money to the ground, and do it all again tomorrow. Many clubs are exclusive but they’ve saved a few classy ones for tourists too. Beirut has a place for everyone, including those looking for a laid-back pub with the locals. This could seem overwhelming, but, don’t worry, there’s a website, beirutnightlife.com, filled with the latest trends, reviews, and events to teach you all about the lifestyle. That’s dedication. So grab a friend and say Fe sahetek, or good fortune, to a one of a kind adventure in Beirut.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4ptiEoFPFc

Both of these locations seem to me like an opportunity of a lifetime and an experience I could never forget, but I still have to ask:

What do you think? Tel Aviv or Beirut? Le Haim or fe sahetek?

http://timeout.co.il/en/nightlife/nightlife

http://www.businessinsider.com/places-to-party-before-you-die-matador-network-book-2014-1?op=1

http://thetravelaffair.net/travel-affairs/tel-aviv-nightlife/

http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Travel-g294005-s402/Beirut:Lebanon:Nightlife.html

http://www.beirutnightlife.com

http://www.cnn.com/2012/08/09/world/meast/beirut-middle-east-party-capital/

http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Travel-g294005-s402/Beirut:Lebanon:Nightlife.html

5 thoughts on “Le Haim or Fe Sahetek?

  1. Both sound so intense to me! But maybe the American nightlife sounds crazy to people from around the world. I think it would be incredible and insane to be a part of the night life of either of these cities. The closest I have been to this lifestyle was a nightclub in Turkey called “iF” and I really enjoyed it. I wonder how locals from Tel Aviv or Beirut would feel about American nightlife?

  2. I thought it was a clever bit that you used the cheers equivalency in the languages of each corresponding city. Its good to deliver the information to those isolated and unaware that the Middle East is more than sand, and that there are similar urban developments, and many exceeding American norms with much grander large-scale development. Some of the most impressive modernist buildings are pictures ive seen of Tel Aviv. My one criticism is that it feels as though I’m reading knowlege synthesized straight from a travelling brochure. Its like you really have been there and you really want me to go there too. Maybe you could have been a bit more objective and glossed over the developments effects on the population around it? What kind of people does it attract? More crime that the clubs stay out later? What do older generations think of it?

  3. I think both places seem to have a great work hard, play hard culture. It’s interesting to me that some people stay out until the morning, or until the last person wants to order a drink. Most importantly, I enjoyed reading this because it gives the reader a better idea of what people our age are doing and where they like to travel to for a good time. We have our big city destinations and vacations, and it’s nice to see theirs as well.

  4. I’d have to say I’d go to both and then decide 🙂 I really like your blog, I thought it was very creative and you did a really well job of persuading me to go to experience both destinations and their night life!! This definitely changed my perspective of the Middle East since it brought up the point that it’s not all sand, conflict, and religion. Like Athens, it’s good to get away once and a while and it’s great that these two places have nightlife to leave the conflict behind and have a good time! 🙂

  5. This was a refreshing read. I am passionate about cities, especially NYC. When I tell people I want to move there when I graduate, I am always asked ” Why, It’s so dangerous!” I never take that into consideration because I can’t see past the beauty of a place so diverse. I think the same concept should be applied to the magnificent places in the Middle East. Instead of looking at all of the bad, we should start examining some of the good.

Leave a Reply

