Cup of Joe?


Or maybe his name was Kaldi?

            Ethiopian legend has it that a goat herder named Kaldi noticed his goats were acting strangely and staying up later than normal after eating berries off a certain tree. Kaldi told his abbot (the head of an abbey of monks) about his sighting and his abbot investigated the situation further. The abbot made a drink with the berries and the drink kept him awake and sharp for late night prayers. The abbot then shared these findings with the monks and soon the coffee craze began. Once coffee traveled to the Arabian Peninsula, it was game over. Do you believe the legend?

Thanks A LATTE Ethiopia, but the Middle East has it from here.

            Although coffee may have been discovered in Ethiopia, it was not until coffee made its way to the Middle East that it was developed and used for trade. Yemen was the first Arabian region to begin growing coffee in the 15thcentury followed by Syria, Turkey, Egypt and Persia a century later. Coffee houses began to appear allowing people to socialize, play a game or two of chess and enjoy music. According to the National Coffee Association, coffee houses were eventually known as ‘Schools of the Wise’ because so many people would discuss issues with one another at the houses. Coffee is also often accompanied by hookah, tea, or a meal in the Middle East. Although Arabia fought hard to keep the product protected, coffee eventually made its way to Europe in the 17th century.

Coffee cup - cup of coffee

Espresso yourself.

            Many Europeans thought coffee was bitter. The clergy condemned the beverage and asked for support from the Pope. Pope Clement VIII enjoyed the smooth drink so much that he gave it Papal approval despite the arguments for and against the caffeinated craze. Coffee houses started to pop up all over Europe especially in London. New York (New Amsterdam at the time) got its first taste of coffee in the mid-1600s. Tea was the favorite in the New World until the Boston Tea Party turned coffee into one of America’s most popular drinks. According to the Food Industry, the world consumes approximately 1.6 billion cups of coffee a day! Think about all the different orders of coffee being made, whether it’s a simple black coffee, vanilla latte, iced caramel macchiato, a shot of espresso, or a blended coffee, the possibilities seem endless. What is your favorite?

Obsessive Coffee Disorder.

            I have self-diagnosed myself with a coffee addiction. As a college student I don’t see how I could get through a day of school, work, assignments, meetings for organizations, and socializing without coffee. My coffee intake can range from one to three cups a day depending on my schedule but I always manage to make a pot in the morning and sit outside to start my day off the best way possible. I think my coffee intake is normal for a college student but maybe that’s just me. What do you think? Thanks A Latte to the Middle East for the coffee for without it I’d be super despressod.

References

Coffee In The Middle East; The Best Way To Do Business – Gulf Business. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://gulfbusiness.com/2013/08/coffee-in-the-middle-east-a-way-of-life/#.VDQhC_ldWjI

The History Of Coffee – National Coffee Association. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.ncausa.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=68

           

10 thoughts on “Cup of Joe?

  1. Interesting! I’d be eager to know more about how coffee has influenced the Middle East’s economy, is it still a main export today? How does coffee currently effect the culture?

    1. Of the top ten countries that export coffee, none of them are in the Middle East, so although it is still an export it is not as big in the Middle East as it is in places like Brazil, Indonesia, or Peru. Coffee is a huge part of the culture in the Middle East. It is fairly common for hosts to offer their guests coffee upon entering their home or shop and meals are often accompanied by a hot cup of coffee.

  2. I fully agree! I drink about 5-7 cups of coffee a day when I have a lot of work and around 3-4 cups on a normal basis. My caffeine intake is incredibly high, obviously. But that makes the 1.6 billion cups of coffee a day statistic that much more believable! I wonder if Middle Easterners treat coffee in the same way we do – socializing, working, school, etc. Do they prefer to drink coffee at a certain time of the day? I love drinking my coffee right when I wake up, but my all time favorite is late evening (maybe with dessert) and plain black. I honestly do like the taste of plain black coffee better than with sugar and/or cream. Great post!

    1. Middle Easterners usually have coffee with meals but also enjoy coffee while socializing and getting into discussions with others. Although 5 to 7 cups of coffee a day is a lot of coffee it is totally understandable as a college student!

  3. Great post and interesting. im a huge fan of Boston Stoker and Im anti-Starbucks but have im not aware of ever having any coffee that originated in the middle east. jamacian blue mountain is the best coffee ive ever has. im also debating changing my name to Tweek because im an addict.

  4. please blame the previous spelling errors on my iphones spellcheck. does a great job of keeping things gramatically correct, doesnt it?

  5. If I don’t have coffee at some point in my day, the day just doesn’t feel right. It helps me function to get through all of my classes, work, studying, and being with friends. The fact that the Middle East populated coffee is very surprising, at least to me. I think it would be interesting to find out more about the coffee craze and what it was like back then and how the people reacted at the time.

    1. The coffee craze was a “take it and run with it” kind of situation in the Middle East. Once they learned about it, they did not stop until they made the perfect pot! I always have to have my morning cup and usually follow it with one to three more cups throughout the day. I can always tell when I need another cup because I start to think everything is my bed and just want to sleep, even in classes and at work!

  6. I contribute at least one of those 1.6 billion cups almost every day, that’s for sure! I never really drank coffee as a habit until I came to school, but now it’s pretty much a routine because I am usually on the go all day and up late at night. Mainly, I drink just plain coffee with a little bit of milk, and occasionally treat myself to some of the fancier coffee drinks at the cafes in Athens. I would be interested to know how people in the Middle East take their coffee? Do they prefer their coffee sweet or strong, or is it a mixture of both like in the U.S.?

  7. I loved reading the history behind coffee and seeing how it was desired all across the world. Thank you, Middle East, for developing trade on this delicious cup of gold. A lot of us Americans do not know what we would do without it!

Leave a Reply

