An angry woman speaks out.


At a lot of times, people ask me Why I support the uprising of women in the Arab world, claiming that women do have a lot of rights and are free, also saying that they are allowed to do everything a man is allowed to do, and now women are having the privilege of acquiring jobs of high positions.

I say such an answer is ignorant and is extremely far from what a woman really goes through in our Arab world.

I have not gained my right when I can do the same job as any other man, and yet I am paid less because I am woman.

When I cannot give my children my nationality, when I cannot travel with my children without their father’s consent, and when I have to take my husband’s permission before I speak, then I have nothing.

When my father controls whether I get education or not, when my father decides if I wear a veil or not, when my father determines when and who I get married to, then I have nothing.

When I am looked down upon if I am divorced, when I am rejected if I was smart, when I am silenced if I have an opinion, then I have nothing.

When I am forced to marry the man who raped me, when I am forced to consider myself guilty, when my society condemns me for being beautiful, then I have nothing.

When a man looks at me like a machine to be owned at home, when a man considers me a body for pleasure, when a man dares to raise his hand against my face, then I have nothing.

When my mother only wants to find me a groom, when my sister does not dare to fall in love, when my brother thinks he has the authority to control what I do, then I have nothing.

When I am denied the right to choose my career, when I am neglected in social conversations, and when my intellectual ability is ignored, then I have nothing.

I rebel against this world. I rebel against anyone who considers himself superior to me.

I rebel against the empty thoughts of sexism, and the uncivilized ideas of discrimination.

I rebel against my mother, father, sister, brother, husband, friend, teacher. I rebel against anyone who think I am not good enough.

I rebel against women who are silent and not aware of their rights. I rebel against the society, and how humans have become inhumane.

I rebel against religion, and against any thing people use as an excuse to make me feel less worthy.

I rebel against myself for once believing I was not good enough.

I rebel against the world. 

I am with the the uprising of women in the Arab world because I deserve to live.

15 thoughts on “An angry woman speaks out.

  1. We should and must have a voice. The same (very similar) situation has happened in all Western societies. It takes time to change ingrained viewpoints that are sexist and wrong. Hold onto that spirit, and rebellion and change is sure to come! Beautiful post!

  2. I love this blog I think the words you have used here can be empowering to women around the world. This is not just an issue for Arab women but women everywhere. These are powerful words you are expressing and I couldn’t have said it better myself. Over the centuries sure things have gotten better for women but why should we settle when we still face issues of sexism. As with racism and any other discrimination we should not stop till all are equal because no one has the right to claim anyone is better or deserves more than anyone else.

  3. Lynn, voicing how you feel and sharing your opinion with the world is very empowering. Listening to your viewpoint really gave me an insight into your culture and how you feel. Despite the thousands of miles that separate us, your story is very touching. There is no reason why you should receive criticism over anything you’ve written or felt. You are going to be very successful and go very far in life. Your realization and outreach will inspire many other people to take a stand and fight for women’s rights!

  4. I thought this post was great. You appear so strong and even through the writing I could tell how passionate you are about women’s rights. It takes writings like these to get other women and even men to join along in your fight. This post portrays exactly what you believe and will hopefully cause others to join in your belief. While women have achieved many rights throughout the years they still have a ways to go. Way to inspire people Lynn!

  5. This post to me is amazing. I love how opinionated you are and how your not afraid to speak your mind. It shows what you want and that your not afraid to go after it and i respect that. In a lot of countries women have achieved so much but some more then others. Your post and your feelings should be shown to everyone (male and female). Your words are very inspiring.

  6. I believe so strongly that you are right in everything you say and i wish you love and luck in all you do. there is no hope for us unless there is gender equality and from this flows all other rights and recognition of humanity. without it, all is fear and oppression. the message to men must also be that we can only benefit by being free of this control. we can share the world instead of hiding, protecting, excluding. men, imagine your world free to share equally, free of suspicion, free of all you need to do to protect and maintain your control…… there lies progress. without it we remain in an eternal struggle at huge cost to us all, to our communities and our wider societies.

  7. In everything humans do, discrimination is present. I think it is about time we stand up for any kind of discrimination, and gender inequality is one of the most essential matters to be handled.

Leave a Reply

